Polar Alignment Laser for EQ6-R 

I was very exited about trying out the new Skywatcher EQ6-R mount but the weather wasn’t cooperating and then Xmas happened.  When I tried the mount I struggled to polar align in the suburban light conditions through the polar scope. 

I made a plan…. 

Previously I made a laser tool that I used to polar align my homebuilt tracker as well as the iOptron Skytracker. 

The EQ6-R has a handle that is fixed on the RA axis with two bolts.  I made an aluminium plate that replaced the handle and provides a slot for the laser tool. 

Tonight I will test the setup and see if polar alignment is easier. I expect to be able to get close to the SCP very quickly with this setup. 

Leave a Reply

