Worm Wheel and Worm for anyone?

I am thinking of making some more worm wheels soon. My new lathe will be set up soon and it will allow me to make the worm wheels much quicker and hopefully more accurate.

If anybody is interested in ordering a specific worm wheel, please let me know and I will see what I can do. Send me your requirements ( starsinphotos@gmail.com ) with the size of the wheel (or the number of teeth. I suggest that you use an ACME thread as it does not bind as easily as a metric thread. I could also make the worm from an ACME threaded rod  (10mm diameter with a 2mm pitch) as shown in my blog.

I will look at your requirements and let you know if I can make it and then we can discuss a price that suits us both.

Updated 19 June 2016:  I have found that nothing is easy. The lathe is not quicker, if anything its harder to get it right. I will have to fine tune the production process before I can go into the business of selling worm gears. 🙂

Tracker 5 April 15-1149 Tracker 5 April 15-1148 Worm detail Jan15-1 2 x 130mm Al disks Tracker progress Jan15-1 IMG_1726

One thought on “Worm Wheel and Worm for anyone?

  1. GavCol

    G’day Theo, I might be interested in some worm drive gears for a project. Please send me an e-mail so we can discuss further. I live in Seaford Rise, SA I am also a CloudyNights member. I see you have an account, but haven’t accessed it in a while. Cheers Gav

    Reply

Leave a Reply

