Canon EOS 600D IR filter Replacement Results

A couple of weekends ago, late on a Sunday afternoon I decided that the time was right to open up my 600D. I suppose I was in a hurry and couldn’t wait any longer. The clear glass replacement filter has just been sitting there and I was already prepared with all my tools and silicon, etc.

So I did it.

IMG_1391

IMG_1396

Opening the camera up was pretty easy. I used the following websites to guide me along:

http://dslrmodifications.com/rebelmod450d1.html

http://www.lifepixel.com/tutorials/infrared-diy-tutorials/canon-t3i

IMG_1400

A large number of very small and delicate connectors have to be disconnected.

IMG_1401

IMG_1407

IMG_1411

Eventually the CCD assembly can be removed.

IMG_1418

This is the complete filter and imaging chip assembly, before I took it apart (and almost broke it…)

IMG_1420

The piezoelectric element is removed here..

IMG_1431

And here I was too impatient and broke the IR cut filter. The crack line can be seen from top left to bottom right. I should have ready the instructions in more detail! Take it from me, don’t be in a hurry when you do this. Fortunately there was no damage to the imager chip and after I cleaned all the filter glass fragments off the CCD surface I could start the assembly process again.

The clearglass filter replaced both the IR cut filter and the piezoelectric filter element. I have now modified the camera to a full spectrum camera.

IMG_1429

Pieces of the IR cut filter. This is not the way to do it!

IMG_1433

Inside of camera, looking at the back of the shutter.

IMG_1432

Putting it all together was reasonably easy. The most difficult part was to get the imaging assembly in the correct position to allow the auto focus to work properly.  I will have to make some more adjustments to get the auto focus to be more accurate. It can wait as I mostly use manual focus for astrophotography anyway.

A big sigh of relief when the camera fires up and still works !

IMG_0124

IMG_0119

A weekend later and I was testing the camera under an almost dark sky. Nothing spectacular but just confirming that it all works as it should.

Orion Nebula (M42 / M43)

Picture saved with settings embedded.

 

Large Magelanic Cloud (LMC)

Autosave

Coalsack with the Southern Cross and two pointers

Coalsack

And, the evening would not have been complete without a image of Carina.

Carina

One thought on “Canon EOS 600D IR filter Replacement Results

  1. Pingback: Milky Way | stars*in*photos

Leave a Reply

