Carina Nebula from under a streetlamp

I had to test my new tracker with autoguiding and could not get away to a dark site so I decided to test it in the front garden where I could reach further south towards Carina Nebula. Unfortunately I have a bright streetlamp in front of my house. I tried to shield the light from falling on the camera and lens to avoid the worst effects of the light conditions. I use a modified Canon 350D and got 29 light frames of 30 seconds each, 7 dark frames and 18 bias frames at f/5.6, ISO 800 with a 250mm focal length.  Ideally you would try to get longer exposures than 30 seconds but the sky was so bright that I had to limit the exposure time for each frame.

Picture saved with settings applied.

One thought on “Carina Nebula from under a streetlamp

Leave a Reply

