It all begins now

Hi,

I decided that I need to find a project that will keep me busy for a long time.

Previously I have built an Audine CCD camera and I found that I enjoyed the planning and building process more than actually using it. The Audine CCD camera design is great and can be seen at the following url: http://www.http//www.astrosurf.com/audine/English/index0.htm 
I wrote a paper in 2003 about the experience. A copy of the paper can be found here:
2003MNSSA..62..216P(1)

A friend has recently completed a 20″ f/4 dobsonian and he inspired me to try and do the same, only a bit smaller. I have decided to build a 16″ f/4.5 dobsonian and will build everything from scratch. This includes the mirror itself, mount and motors. I will design the telescope myself but will be using hundreds of examples along the way.

I have ordered the well known book by David Kriege and Richard Berry; The Dobsonian Telescope, A Practical Manual for Building Large Aperture Telescopes.(http://www.willbell.com/tm/dobtel.htm)
Hopefully this book will teach me the ABC’s of grinding and polishing a large mirror as well as designing and building the dobsonian mount. 

I will update this blog with all the interesting (and boring) bits over the next year or so. I hope that I will get great advice from people that have done this before and maybe I will be able to answer questions for those who want to do the same.

Wish me luck!

Leave a Reply

